You didn’t steal my joy….I gave it to you.

fullsizerender

You didn’t steal my joy….I gave it to you. But now I’m taking it back.

Every where I look I see things that people are fully relying on.

Good grades.

Relationships.

Friendships.

Cars.

Social statuses.

Future jobs.

All of these things are nice and most of the time helpful, but what happens when these earthly things fail? I know for me I go all in and put all of my eggs in one basket and when that basket messes up I continue to search for a new basket to put them in.

{Are you picking up what I’m throwing down?}

I fully rely on people or things and when they mess up or screw up.

I’m lost.

I’m lost because I put all of my joy  in them. Not technically in them, but find that I rely on them to give me joy.

But my joy, my real joy comes from the Lord and in that I can put all of my eggs in His basket.

So where do your eggs lay?

Because yesterday my eggs were in my grades, but the day before that they were with a boy and then the day before that they were in a friendship but then before that they were in intermurals.

But you see that grade on that test doesn’t  give me joy. That boy will mess up and isn’t capable of giving me joy. That friendship, oh how thankful I am for it, but still no joy. Those intermurals, ya, i broke my finger and can’t play lol, so no joy.

But today. Today my joy comes from the Lord and in that I can rest.

Rest in that, dwell on that.

2 thoughts on “You didn’t steal my joy….I gave it to you.

Leave a Reply

